Share this post

Pizza Wars 2015: Round 3 voting kicks off Thursday to determine county champs

This week, voters in seven northern Indiana counties will choose which pizzerias will represent their counties in the regional championships.

Round two of voting for Northern Indiana Tourism Development Commission‘s Pizza Wars closed Sunday night, leaving the final two competitors in Elkhart, St. Joseph, Porter, LaPorte, Marshall, Kosciusko and LaGrange counties.

Round three, which will determine the champion in each county, kicks off Thursday, June 4, and will run through Sunday, June 7.

The final matchups from each county, according to each county’s voting bracket, are: 

Elkhart County [vote]

St. Joseph County [vote]

Porter County [vote]

LaPorte County [vote]

Marshall County [vote]

Kosciusko County [vote]

LaGrange County [vote]

  • Iannarelli’s vs. Chicago Joe’s
    After falling to Iannarelli’s in Round 1 voting, Chicago Joe’s was brought back in Round 2 to compete against CopperTop. According to Robby Bearss of the NITCD, Chicago Joe’s was chosen to fill the empty spot in the bracket because it had the most votes of the two pizzerias that got knocked out in the first round.

Ultimately, only one pizzeria will be named the best slice in northern Indiana. More than 76,000 votes have been tallied in the contest to date.

County tourism bureaus chose the final eight nominees in each county before the voting began, according to previous Flavor 574 reporting

The seven county champions will match up in the regional championships beginning June 12, joined by an eighth wildcard competitor. The wildcard will be the eliminated pizzeria with the most overall votes throughout the competition.

The first championship round runs from June 12 through 21.

Follow the competition with the hashtag #PizzaWarsNI

Type and hit enter