Share this post

Pizza Wars 2015: The bracket narrows as round one voting ends

And then there were four…from each county. 

Round one of voting for Pizza Wars wound to a close Sunday night, leaving the final four competitors in Elkhart, St. Joseph, Porter, LaPorte, Marshall, Kosciusko and LaGrange counties.

Round two kicks off Thursday, May 28, and will run through Sunday, May 31.

The final four from each county, according to a news release from the Northern Indiana Tourism Development Commission, are: 

Elkhart County

St. Joseph County 

Porter County 

LaPorte County 

Marshall County 

Kosciusko County 

LaGrange County 

  • Amy’s Pizza vs. Iannarelli’s 
  • Riegling’s Coppertop Tavern vs. bye
    According to NITDC marketing manager Robby Bearss, the bracket has a bye, or blank slot, due to some problems with the voting. Bearss said Tuesday morning that the NITDC was discussing possible solutions for a competitor to fill the slot. 

Ultimately, only one pizzeria will be named the best slice in northern Indiana. More than 51,000 votes were submitted in the first 10 days, according to the release. 

County tourism bureaus chose the final eight nominees in each county before the voting began, according to previous Flavor 574 reporting

The three rounds of county-level voting close June 7 and the championship voting round is June 26 to 29, according to previous Flavor 574 reporting

Follow the competition with the hashtag #PizzaWarsNI. 

Follow digital producer Danielle Waldron on Twitter @DanielleWaldron

Type and hit enter